Share This Page:

Press-ups help needed

General Military Chat. New to the forums? Introduce yourself, Who are you and where are you from?
rsn1984

Press-ups help needed

Post by rsn1984 »

I'm currently training for PRMC and seem to be improving quite quickly in all areas of my training ie. running, pull-ups etc. but i seem to be having trouble improving my press-up situation. I've been traing for just over 2 months now and can still only achieve about 25 press-ups max (I could do abou 18 when I first started). Has anyone got any advice on how to improve my score. I know I'm using the correct technique as I've had people watch me when training and have read the guide for PRMC given out at the AFCO. Any help would be great, cheers.
Gazza85

Post by Gazza85 »

Practise makes perfect.

Use pyramids. 10, rest for 10, 9 rest for 9 etc.
[img]http://img130.imageshack.us/img130/5848/georgiossamaras5bk.jpg[/img]
Chappy

Post by Chappy »

I would use search matey, this isnt the first time people have asked this sort of question. You will find loads of results to help you.
luke

Post by luke »

When I first considered the military 10 or so months ago, I could do about 4 press-ups :oops:

I can do about 60 or 70 in 2 minutes now, all I did was crack out as many press-ups as I could every time I had a piss (best off just doing it at home, you'll look stupid doing it at the pub), slowly increasing my target by 5 a week.

The hardest thing I found about it was making press-ups part of my routine, I found this the most consistent way of doing press-ups regularly.
mfat_man

Post by mfat_man »

Luke

What other upper-body excercizes are you doing?

I mean are you using weight training to improve your muscle strenght such as shoulder presses, bicep curls flys etc. How many reps, what weight?

I can't do as many press-ups as I used to!

Cheers

MFAT man
Walker

Post by Walker »