Share This Page:

Looking to join RN in Jan - few questions

Discussions on joining & training in the Royal Navy.
Simba

Looking to join RN in Jan - few questions

Post by Simba »

Hi guys,

Another pesky newbie here with more than likely tedious questions whom I am sure you are all delighted to see.... :snipersmile:

I've had a look around the forum and there are a few questions which I can't find the answer to so your help would be appreciated.

Just a quick run down on my circumstances, I was originally going to apply for WSO in the RAF however I never had two A levels as I went straight into employment from school (gained 5 GCSE's 2 NVQ's and several other lower grade qualifications). I'm currently working towards a Private Pilot Licence and I'm confident I could do the role but it was the academic qualifications which prevented me from applying as I never went into further education. I was torn between going back to college to do two A levels or look for another suitable job and I found the RN Aircrew which seems very appealing and I have all the qualifications and likely experience to put me in with a good shot at it.

Firstly, in regards to time away from home would I be correct in thinking that the RN is the longest duration in comparison to the RAF? I'm just trying to get everything in order in relation to girlfriend and family as I believe it's up to 6/7 months at a time? I know this is a very open ended question and rather than the "it would depend on your role" answer, how long have you been away in say the last two years?

I know basic training is fairly isolated and that's fine for me as 10 weeks is really a small price to pay for a career but after that, during training and tours how much free time would one get to return home for weekends? as I would presume being on a ship would prevent weekend trips home, unless you are an exception swimmer of course.