Share This Page:

Combat(?) PTSD

Discussions and general chat about PTSD. Feel free to introduce yourself or if you need help, please reach out and ask.
staffassistant

Combat(?) PTSD

Post by staffassistant »

(COMBAT?) PTSD

In late 2003 I was warned off that I was to be sent on a 6 month detachment to Kuwait. My appointment would be Staff Assistant to the Senior British Military Representative Iraq (SBMRI). As the appointment indicates, I was a Military Administrator and I would certainly not regard myself as a combat soldier. That said I did spend over 15 years in a Teeth Arm Unit and had begun my military career as a ‘combatant’. However, and I am sure this happened to many who had chosen my career path, once one became a Sergeant or maybe higher one tends to neglect the combat side of the job in favour of the primary job, and that was to administer a Regiment, Headquarters etc. This was ‘unofficially’ accepted because the Officers one worked for required you to do your job otherwise once the annual inspections took place and the organisation failed it would be the Adjutant/Commanding Officer’s that would have to explain to Brigade Commanders why. Therefore as far as being a combat soldier was concerned the ‘system’ allowed you to fall behind but encouraged it to make themselves look better come inspection time. The ‘paper-pass’ syndrome comes to mind.