Share This Page:

Getting fit in time.

General discussions on joining & training in The Parachute Regiment.
Danparahopeful

Getting fit in time.

Post by Danparahopeful »

Ok basically I think ive left it way too late to start training. I started last week but already started my application to join the parachute regiment before, I've passed my BARB and handed my medical forms in and just waiting on that now.

I'm currently running 1.5miles in 10.19 which is extremely poor, and I know it has to be 9.18, but I also I know I have to be able to pull that time off after running 3.5 miles.

so considering I only started training last week I have a holiday in less than 2 weeks for 10 days, so that undoubtedly will set back my run time as well, how much time am I looking at before I do ADSC and assuming I pass that how long after that until PRAC.

And my final question to you guys is, realistically can I get my fitness to a high enough standard within the time scale I have?

Thanks.
ofens

Re: Getting fit in time.

Post by ofens »

Can you tell us exactly what your timescale is? (how many weeks)
Don't stress out, just do your best with the time you have.
What kinds of running training are you doing each week?
[i]Hangover is temporary, drinking lasts forever![/i]
[b]IT WILL COME[/b]
timex

Post by timex »

Why can't you train on Holiday? 10 days is a lot to lose and if its going to be one huge piss up with no training then in all probability anything you've done will be wasted. You need to decide where your priorities lie.
Tab

Post by Tab »

Nothing to stop you doing a bit of running while you are holiday, as it was said earlier it is up to you and how much you want the job.
gunner75

Post by gunner75 »

i went on a lads holiday after passing at brize and I carried on training much to the disgust of the lads I went with lol - I still got a megaton of shaggin in with all the holiday crumpet so I wasnt bothered about the jibes :wink: